Tickets The Season The Company The School Support Press Room Contact Us

Artistic Consultant

Wes Chapman

WES CHAPMAN A native of Union Springs, Alabama, Chapman graduated from Alabama School of Fine Arts in 1983 with the Duane Dushion Award and the Prix d'excellence de Danse Award. After dancing for Alabama Ballet for one season Chapman joined American Ballet Theatre (ABT) in 1984 as a member of the corps de ballet. He was promoted to Soloist in 1987 and to Principal Dancer in 1989. With ABT, Chapman performed all the leading roles in the ballet repertoire, and in works by many of the 20th century's master choreographers, including George Balanchine, Agnes de Mille, Jirí Kylián, Frederick Ashton, Mats Ek, Twyla Tharp, Mark Morris, Merce Cunningham and Antony Tudor. Chapman has appeared in Dance in America, the film Dancers and the documentary Ballet as well as numerous television shows and has been featured on national news broadcasts. In 1993, he joined the Bavarian National Ballet, where he was a Principal Dancer before returning to ABT in 1995.

In 1996, Chapman was named Artistic Director of Alabama Ballet. During his leadership, the company grew from 16 to 44 professional and apprentice dancers. He also founded the Alabama Ballet School, the apprentice pre-professional training program, Alabama Ballet Summer Program and Gorham's Bluff Summer Residency. Chapman received the Distinguished Career Award from the University of Alabama in 1998, Birmingham Business Journal Top 40 Under 40, in 2004, and was named Alabama Arts Ambassador by Governor Bill Riley in 2007. Chapman restaged for Alabama Ballet many of the full-length classical ballets including Swan Lake, Don Quixote, The Sleeping Beauty, Giselle and Coppélia.

Mr. Chapman returned to ABT as ballet master in 2006 before being named Artistic Director of ABT II from 2007-2011. Additionally he serves as a national spokesperson for Regional Dance America and as dance advisor for Angelina Ballerina. He joined Ballet San Jose as Artistic Consultant in January 2012.

The Nutcracker        The Nutcracker : Karen Gabay

   2013-2014 Season Announcement

   See our 2013 memory book here